top of page
  • Writer's pictureMargaret Va'aulu

2021 Book & Podcast Faves

I'm the type of person that loves to read, listen to podcasts, and watch documentaries. I genuinely just love to learn. But my reading wishlist is literally 300+ books strong, so I am more likely to actually read something if it's been recommended to me personally (or by someone I trust on Instagram 😅). Maybe you're like this too? If so, here's my favorites from this past year to add to your list if you want!


Pregnancy/ Postpartum Books:

(I spent the first 6 months of the year pregnant, so there's a lot of these.)

  • Doula's Guide to Empowering your Birth: I've read this book with my past 3 pregnancies & 10/10 recommend!

  • Ina May Gaskin's Guide to Childbirth

  • Birth Without Fear

  • Mindful Birthing: Training the mind, body, and heart for Childbirth and Beyond

  • Transformed by Birth

  • Lactivate! A User's Guide to Breastfeeding

  • The Fourth Trimester: This is another book that I've read for multiple pregnancies. The first time I read, it completely transformed the way I view postpartum and how I set things up to take care of myself. I reread it each time as a refresher on how to honor the fourth trimester. A necessary read in my opinion!


Other Books:

  • The Nature Fix

  • Simplicity Parenting : This is literally my favorite parenting book of all time (and I read a lot of them). This was my 3rd time reading it and I still got so much out of it! I recommend it to everyone.

  • Decluttering at the Speed of Life : This book really surprised me in the best way possible. I only started it to keep me motivated in the decluttering started by Simplicity Parenting. I've been an aspiring minimalist for years now, so I didn't think there was much else to learn. I was wrong. It gave me new ways to look at things, strategies, and would be applicable to people in all points of their decluttering journey.

  • The Yes Brain: How to Cultivate Courage, Curiosity, and Resilience in your Child

  • Hope for the Animals and their World by Jane Goodall


Podcasts:

  • Sharon Says So

  • First Name Basis

  • Good Inside with Dr. Becky

  • 1000 Hours Outside



***I also think it's worthwhile to note that at least 2/3 of this list are things I listened to in audiobooks format. I get mine for free using my library card on the Hoopla and Overdrive apps. If you're also a parent (particularly of little kids) with only a few minutes to sit down with a physical book, I see you. I am you. I know it can often feel futile to even try reading when you're interrupted nearly every page. But don't give up. Keep a book in your diaper bag, car, bathroom and/or nightstand. Read what you can and it'll add up bit by bit.


Happy reading!


What were some of your favorite reads of 2021?



59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page